Saw a free kick for hand ball given today for a lady using her arms (passively) crossed over her chest. In the sideline discussion an O35 lady said they had recently received a penalty against them for the same indiscretion. When asked, the referee had told them the rule had been changed.
So, I did some asking around and it appears that there has been no rule change (or at least it hasn't been publicised). So, it may be a case of new refs who simply haven't been told of the Granville playing condition.
Ok, so, I then hit the Granville website to see if it is in the bylaws or playing conditions. I couldn't find it anywhere (did searches for chest, arms, ladies.... couldn't find anything).
The questions are: 1. Does this playing condition (ladies can use arms across chest) exist? 2. Is this playing condition in writing? (so that teams can show any refs who are not aware of it).
I also have asked this question and have received varying answers, all basically falls back on the referee and their interpretation as to whether the conact with the arms has impacted on the game and the player has gained an advantage.Some girls/ladies were using their arms off their chest and not tucked tightly in and this may have something with the possible rule change.
Anon, Funny that. I was talking about this very topic with a colleague (referee) at half time today. It seems that this rule was either agreed on clubs/association and/or s a circular of some sort was issued but never found its way into the by-laws (It wont be the first time that a by-law change is agreed but not recorded in the by-laws but that is another topic ).
A similar rule is flat wedding bands being allowed in Granville. There is no documentation (that i can find) by the GDS Football Association but this was, at some point, recorded in the GDF Referees Association handbook and we all follow it.
It has always been accepted in Granville that a female may place her arms across her breasts to protect them (either crossed arms or up/down), in the same way males can place their hands over their crotch in a wall defending a free-kick. Neither has never been documented (to my knowledge) and FNSW accept the male/crotch as valid but not the female/breasts for some strange reason.
The key aspect is how the hands/arms are placed and used. If the hands/arms are moved forward at all at the time of contact or just before, this then becomes considered hand-ball under the 'hand-to-ball' interpretation rather than acceptable as 'ball-to-hand'.
Another key aspect is if the hand or arms are used to solely protect the breasts or deliberately play the ball as well as protection.
It seems that many are under the impression that if the arms are tucked in closely on the chest then playing the ball with the arm is allowed. This is not the case as confirmed in last night's meeting. For instance if the ball is on a flight path in the air, a lady puts her arms tightly across her chest THEN MOVES into the path of the ball and controls the ball with her "chests" (in this case arms) then its deliberate hand ball. The case of a wall situation or covering the chest as a natural reflex to protect the breasts with no intention of playing the ball should not be deliberate hand balls.
Anyway Granville has been asked to clarify this and no response has been received.
yep been wanting an answer to this one ALL season. Have asked many refs with varying responses. We got an email at the start of the year saying they could not do it but then watch players do it all year. I know in the State tournaments you cannot (learnt the hard way conceding a penalty in State Cup).
So I don't care what the rule is to be honest but can we please clarify it and let everyone know.