A player takes a goal kick. The ball hits the referee who is standing outside the penalty area in the back and bounces back towards the goal. The kicker stops the ball just before it enters the goal. What should the ref do in each one of the following cases (after he gets up and dusts him/herself off ):
A. The kicker is the keeper and the ball is stopped by his foot. B. The kicker is the keeper and the ball is stopped by his hand. C. The kicker is NOT the keeper and the ball is stopped by his foot. D. The kicker is NOT the keeper and the ball is stopped by his hand.
EDIT: Seeing that I'm getting back some of my own medicine, some clarifications:
- The ball wholly crossed the 18yard line before it hit the referee - The referee just turned his back as the ball was being kick and reasonably assumes that it did not touch anyone or anything else from the time it was kicked to the time it was stopped entering the goal. - The referee saw and maintained vision of the ball after it hit him. - The ball never went out of the field after the goal kick.
OKO, I remember pointing out something similar to what you say OKO. A ball hitting an AR standing outside the sideline does not necessarily out. I was to to call it out and get on with the game anyway.
PS: I know your answer would be this scenario is a more critical situation ;D