I thought a new thread may cause more interest. Read the other “Goal kick infringement” for a similar scenario
A player takes a goal kick. The ball hits the referee who is standing outside the penalty area in the back and bounces back towards the goal. The Goal Keeper attempt to stop the ball from entering the gaol but it deflects of his hand and goes in anyway.
What should the ref do in either one of of the following cases:
A. The kicker is the goal keeper. B. The kicker is NOT the keeper.
(same clarification points as in the first Goal kick infringement thread).
A. IFK. for touching the ball again after kicking it. There can be debate here if it would count as a goal if advantage was given as it did not touch any other player. Also if he did not touch it it would be a corner, B. Goal. Nothing illegal. Goal kick taken. The ball went into play. It was touch by another player and then entered the goal.
allows play to continue when the team against which an offence has been committed will benefit from such an advantage and penalises the original offence if the anticipated advantage does not ensue at that time
So, can you play advantage here ? There was no offence committed against a team. We have a technical breach of the Laws.
So, if you decide advantage is applicable,
A. Goal B. Goal.
If you decide advantage cannot be applied then
A. IFK for second touch B. Goal.
The topic of whether advantage may be applied to a technical infringement has been debated many times and both sides of the argument has passionate support.
Any opinions expressed here are mine alone and not necessarily indicative of any formal Referee's body unless otherwise stated.