In cricket there has always been debates about if a batsman nicks a caught ball should they walk or leave it to the umpires decision.
What should we do in football? In a close contest if the ball last came off you before it went out, would you walk away and give it to the opposition? Would you stay there and look at the ref giving him/her no indication of the fact that it’s the opposition's throw in? Would you raise your arm gesturing claims of your TI. Would you run after the ball indicating its your TI?
That’s only one area. Keep running after the ball knowing you were offside is another. Diving is another. Handball is another…. Some of these are more clear and some are more debatable.
There is a fine line between, acting sportingly, playing the whistle (after all the ref know the laws best), gamesmanship and blatant cheating.
Lets stay with a throw in. Is claiming a TI knowing it is not yours cheating? How about not walking away?
Post by tooniedemon33 on Jun 30, 2009 16:22:02 GMT 10
It's a tough one. Earlier this season, i was attempting to clear a ball down the line, and my touch went too far and it went out. I indicated to the ref that it had indeed gone out, and it was my oppositions throw. This was deep in our half. The referee looked at me, before waving me away and continuing play. So what should be done in that instance??
what i can say is "what's the intent of the player" if deliberate cheating you not going to be gentleman/woman anyway.....always you will be a looser.....and will be remembered for it....
if its fair dinkum it will be well applauded and recognized...maybe for ever...why fair play awards....after game mcdonald awards....
so it comes down to this for me...fair play or unfair play
skyblues...did you feel you did the right thing if so you would be happy for it, even today...that was ref's decision so they also would be happy...so would be the opponents...at times ref see that little touch a player won't see/feel, may be why they called it...so game continues...it's called courage.....
back to 1's q....if ongoing i would say its coming close to cheating...a caution for USB....usually depends on the body language seriousness.....
I’m assuming that you or a team mate still had control of the ball and it wasn’t a danger situation. Otherwise it may be to your advantage to say that the ball went out.
One argument would say that well you could simply roll it out to make sure the ref gives a TI to the opposition.
Another could say, what if you thought the ball is out of play but it actually wasn’t (the whole of the ball, the whole of the line thing) just leave it to the ref.
I agree, being sporting fells good and is always rewarded, being unsporting blatant cheating is punished sooner or later and put to shame. It those “in betweens” that I’m interested in.
For instance when the ball goes out one puts his hand up and look at the ref. Nothing too overly. The ref indicated TI to the opposition and he just walks away. I don’t see that as cheating or unsporting (although I’d prefer if he walked away in the first place). Its a different story when he yells its our ball, it came of them last and argues with the ref when a decision is made. Of course that’s my opinion and others may think differently.