Good question do tell. I think it would stump some inexperience referees.
OKO, My understanding is that it DID leave the PA. However I thought it was a retake too but wasn't absolutely sure so I looked up the LOTG. Although the LOTG says “The ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area”, it also says “The ball is out of play when it has wholly crossed the goal line”.
So the ball has gone form out of play to out of play (never in play). Just as an assurance, the LOTG also says that any other unspecified infringement of the LOTG for a Goal Kick must be given as a retake.
Whilst I do not disagree with you both, could one also argue that the penalty area is the area that is surrounded by the 18yd box and the byline and therefore once the ball has left the area it is in play (even though it is actually out of play hmmmmm!!!!), therfore corner. Anyway ref gave a corner which was what got me thinking about it actually, noone argued or anything I was just curious as to the correct decision.
Would you believe the same corner then come directly off the upright back to the original corner kick taker who put it in the middle again, my understanding is that this is an indireect freekick isnt it??? Once again noone complained and play continued.
Poor ref, he had a great game and as I said, noone actually complained or picked up on either of these things during the game but they just got me thinking. Also will add that if thats all the ref misses he's had a pretty good game IMO, what are they, both 1000/1 shots, he just happened to get them both in 20 seconds of football.
Last Edit: Jul 27, 2009 14:52:24 GMT 10 by scarcev
HW for us mere mortals on the odd occasion we duff the connection with the ball and these sort of crazy things happen. Mind you being 6ft4 im usually in the area laughing at the fool who cant get the ball in the 18 but can manage to hit the post.