Champions of Champions on the weekend and it was a hot and very very windy day, with the wind running straight down the pitch. In a junior girls game a goalkick is taken into the wind and it gets outside the box about 6 foot in the air before spinning back and boucing around in the area and eventually into the hands of the advancing keeper!! True Story.
So ref ordered a retake (but was honest enough to say at HT that he wasnt sure of the ruling).
The retake was ordered because the ball never left the area, when in actual fact it did. Someone else claimed it would be classified as a backpass but then definately not intentional.
I guess play on was the correct ruling, but anyone else have any interpretations on it?